how to keep a Christ-centered relationship

godly relationship

Ridge and I have been together for a whole year as of May 19th (yay!). One of the reasons I fell in love with him is because he has an obvious passion for God. I can tell he does his best to follow God in our relationship, and I do my best to be a godly girlfriend. However, when either one of our relationships with God is not as it should be, the focus of our relationship with each other falters.

He said to me once, “Just follow me, because I’m following God.”

*swoon*

I am absolutely not an expert on love, but I’ve learned a lot from our relationship this past year. One of those things is how important it is to keep God the center of everything you do. What I’ve written below is my experience so far on how to do that.

exalt together

It’s important to keep your relationship with God strong. Our sole purpose in life is to serve and worship God. We cannot do anything without him, so what makes us think we can maintain a loving relationship without his guidance? I am very guilty of replacing my relationship with God with mine and Ridge’s relationship. When I do this, I fail at my mission as a godly girlfriend. If God is not the most important relationship in my life, all my other relationships will fall apart. Ridge needs me to be strong in my faith so we can serve God together. Your relationship with God forms the basis of all of your other relationships.

“And you shall love your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength.” Mark 12:30

As a loving partner, you should encourage his walk with God. Even though we’re not married, Ridge is the spiritual leader of our relationship. By encouraging his walk with God, he will be more inclined to lead us both closer to God. My actions should compel him to draw closer to God. I shouldn’t tempt him to do wrong- and this doesn’t just apply to lust. Everything I say should be supportive of him doing the right thing in every circumstance.

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Ephesians 4:29

Pray for him. Praying for the one you love shows that you are genuinely interested in his life. Its important to be compassionate towards him and his needs. Talking to God about the one you love is the most powerful thing you can do for them. To have a Christ-centered relationship, you should pray for one. Pray that God will guide each of you individually and as a couple.

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective. James 5:16

Share your faith with each other. The most important thing to keeping God the center of your relationship is to talk about Him. If you share your faith with each other and study verses together, you will grow closer to God and deeper in knowledge of His word as a couple.

Glorify the Lord with me, let us exalt His name together. Psalm 34:3

In order to glorify God in your relationship, you need to encourage your significant other and comfort him when he needs you. As Ridge’s girlfriend, I should celebrate his strengths and support him through his weaknesses. I should trust and respect him as the leader of our relationship. Most of all, I should encourage his walk with God and we should work together to keep Christ the center of our relationship. To me, it is so beautiful to see a couple relentlessly desiring God. I hope and pray that when others look at our relationship, they will see Christ as the center.

Leave a Reply

