what is my purpose? (part 2)

part 2

This is the follow up post to my most recent post living a life of purpose. It would be awesome if you went back and read it first!

I believe our purpose changes depending on what stage of life we’re in. My purpose now is different from my purpose in 20 years, 10 years, or even 5 years. I believe my purpose right now as a 19 year old, college sophomore still living at home is different from when I’m 45 years old with a full time job and a couple of teenage kids.

For people at the same stage of life as me, I think part of our purpose is to discover what kind of person we’re going to be, to decide how we’re going to live our life. I believe that the way our priorities are set now will most likely determine the way that our life turns out. My purpose now is also to serve God and spread His love to the people that I encounter every day. My purpose is to learn what I have a passion for and to learn how to use that passion to honor God. But, maybe in 5 or 10 years, my purpose will be to raise my children up to love God, to be a God- fearing wife and to be a godly example for the kids that I teach in school. Of course, just because two people are in the same place in life, doesn’t mean that their purposes are the same. God has a unique plan for each of us, and it’s important to remember that you are your own special person. Don’t fall into the habit of comparing your life with others’, because you are not them. God is taking care of your life, and He most likely has a totally different plan for you then he does for them.

The first 4 months of my senior year of high school were spent in agony over deciding what college to go to. I narrowed down my options to two schools, and I thought making the decision between the two was going to be the end of me and my sanity. I finally decided on Troy University, where my sister already attended, a smallish school 4 hours away from home. So I left my family, church family (which is very important to me), and friends to go off to the college that I thought was the right choice for me. After I moved down there and as the semester went on, I started getting more and more homesick. I felt like I wasn’t where I needed to be and I couldn’t see myself living in Troy for the next 3 years of my life. So after many, many tears, prayers, and weekend trips home, I decided to move back home during Christmas break. There is no doubt in my mind that I made the right decision. This is also where comparison comes into the picture. Through all of this, I kept looking at other people my age and wondering why I couldn’t live away from home and do the things that they did. But God has a different plan for their life than mine. Everyone has their own strengths and weaknesses and God has a different path for all of us.

I didn’t become truly happy until my life aligned with God’s will. I couldn’t reach my full potential as a person and child of God until I discovered what it was God wanted me to do. Of course, nobody will ever reach their complete “full potential”, because it’s impossible to be perfect. Still, when you start to follow God’s will for your life, everything else you need will fall into place. You will grow in your relationship with God and as a follower of Christ.

God has placed a desire in all of us to know our purpose.  It’s easy to look at some people who seem to have it all together and wonder if God has forgotten about your life. But you are not them. God’s will works differently through all of us. He has a perfect plan and perfect timing and we have to trust Him to take care of us. The main thing to ensure that you’re following God, is to only make decisions that bring Him glory or build your relationship with Him. Through all the searching and confusion, praise Him anyways. God’s watching over you no matter how confusing life might get. Trust him to take care of you. Like I mentioned in part 1, God’s plan for our lives is much greater than our own desires.

One thought on “what is my purpose? (part 2)

  1. Your writings about purpose are very deep and good. Our purpose does change with age, and in addition with circumstances. For another essay, I would love for you to consider this: having a giving spirit that is oftentimes misunderstood. This had been a huge burden for me all of my adult life. I guess it’s because I talk ,talk ,talk, but I have a heart full of love for anyone who is in need-be it food, clothes, you-name-it, but I am often misunderstood in my efforts. It may be the “teacher” thing in me, I don’t know, but I am so very often seen in a light that does not reflect our God –I need to find a way to point people to the Lord I guess I am just overbearing, but I have a heart full of love and compassion–I want to help any and all that I can. Please pray for me and I will pray for you in your beautiful writings of faith

    Like

Leave a Reply

