an important question

An important question: what are you filling your heart with?

A good answer: things that are pure, lovely, and excellent

A bad answer: things of the world

What is your answer? What is my answer? Do I fill my heart with things that bring glory to God? Do the people I allow into my heart bring me closer to God or farther away? Whatever we allow our minds to consume will eventually influence our heart and change our attitude and actions. This includes movies, music, social media, the people we surround ourselves with, and so much more. When you put garbage in, garbage will come back out.

Garbage: negativity, discouragement, cursing, sexual content, self-absorption, greed, gossip, etc..

“Finally brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable- if anything is excellent or praiseworthy- think about such things.” Philippians 4:8

I am called to think on things that are lovely, pure, noble, and praiseworthy. Am I doing that?

what do you fill your heart with

If I constantly fill my heart with the things of the world, there will be no more room for God. And it should be the complete opposite. Our hearts and minds should be so consumed with the things of God, things that are pure, holy, and righteous, that things of the world have no place in us. The more consumed you are in the world, the farther away you are pulled from God. The music we listen to and movies we watch all has an effect on our attitudes and actions. This even applies to the people who surround you. If their attitudes and actions don’t glorify God, soon your attitude and actions will stop glorifying God too.

It’s a constant battle, too. We have to continuously fight to push away the sin that the world so eagerly feeds us. We become so easily desensitized to the sin of the world that sometimes we don’t even recognize it, and that’s why we must keep our guard up. Whatever consumes your mind will eventually consume your life. And we should want God to consume our lives, not the world.

If you watch a lot movies with cursing, or music with crude lyrics, you’ll find your language slipping. If you watch TV shows with a lot of sexual scenes, you’ll discover that those images stay with you and influence your thoughts. If you follow along with the tweets or posts or images or whatever that encourage greed, negativity, gossip, or self-centeredness, or the “if it feels right, it is right” mentality, you’ll find yourself agreeing with them.

“Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it” Proverbs 4:23

God and his righteousness should come before anything this world offers us. I can’t fully follow God if I am constantly submerged in the world. If I fill myself with the gossip and narcissism of social media, or the cursing and sex on TV, I can’t honor God and I can’t strengthen my relationship with Him.

We are called to be so much more than people caught up in the ugliness and sin that the world is overtaken with.

I want to be so immersed in God that worldly things don’t even appeal to me anymore.

I want to be consumed with God.

One thought on “an important question

Leave a Reply

