where the beauty lies

where the beauty lifes

I have spent the past couple days in a place called Grace Singing School in North Carolina. We sang, we prayed, we listened to some awesome preaching, and I was blessed to be in the presence of my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ who love the Lord with everything they have. I got to leave all my troubles at the door as I walked into a place of peace away from the chaos of the world.

There are so many different things I could write about my experience there, but this post is on something dear to my heart.

I was in a place of beauty. Sure, the building was nice and the decorations were pretty. The people smiled and dressed nicely. But that’s not where the beauty lies. True beauty lies within the hearts of those who love the Lord with all their heart and serve Him with all their might. It lies within God’s people who seek after Him and His righteousness.

True beauty is not defined by your hair or clothes. It’s defined by God’s light radiating from your soul. He can have the nicest hair or the strongest arms, but he is only handsome when you see the love of God through his words and actions. She can have the latest fashion and the most expensive makeup or jewelry, but those things cannot compare with the splendor of allowing the love of the Lord to flow from her heart. He can have the coolest car or the nicest clothes, but he is only attractive when he stands up for what is right and he shows compassion to everyone around him.

Women of the world can take back their revealing clothes and heavy makeup, give me a kind and humble soul. Give me a servant’s heart sprinkled with the boldness to proclaim God’s truth and love. The world can take back its male supermodels with airbrushed abs and slicked back hair. Give me someone with the courage to do what is right no matter the circumstances. Give me a heart that desires to know God more and serve others with humility and kindness.

There is nothing more attractive in a man or a woman than when he or she is serving and praising God. I don’t want to see beauty as the world defines it, I want to see beauty as God defines it.

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. 4 Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” 1 Peter 3:3-4

“But thou, O man of God, flee these things; and follow after righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, meekness.” 1 Timothy 6:11


 

Also, my sister got married last weekend! It was so beautiful and Holly and Will’s love for each other is so precious. I pray God blesses their marriage and they continue to grow deeper in love for each other and in His love.

wwedding picsIt was so beautiful and we had so much fun!

wedding picsThanks to Jackie and Deanna Kampmeyer for taking some gorgeous pictures!

wedding adorableAren’t they just adorable?

 

Leave a Reply

