consider the wildflowers

27 Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.

28 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you—you of little faith!

29 And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it.

30 For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them.

31 But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.

Luke 12:27-32

consider the wildflowers

Consider how the wildflowers grow. The flowers don’t worry, they just bloom. They don’t think about when the next rainfall will come or why the flower next to them is so much taller, they simply grow. If God watches over the flowers, which are here today and withered tomorrow, how much more can we trust Him to watch over us?

“And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well. Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.” Vs 29-32

These two verses tell us not worry about the things we want or need, because our Heavenly Father knows our every need. It tells us to seek Him first, and He will supply us the rest. We have no reason to doubt or fear, because God will take care of our every need. I worry about everything. I worry about everyone I know, I worry about my life now and I worry about my future. As much as I worry, I can’t think of one instance where God has failed me.

God has always blessed me during the times I chose to follow His will over my own. No matter how doubtful I was over the outcome or worried about what might happen, God has never failed me. Of course He hasn’t, and He never will.

The amount of worry you have about the future says a lot about the amount of faith you have right now. Whenever we, as Christians, go through a period of doubt or anxiety, it’s because we’ve lost our focus.

worry

When Jesus called Peter to walk out on the water, he only began to sink when he took his focus off of Jesus. Doubts and worries only crept into his mind when he began to think about the wind and waves instead of the power of Jesus that was before him.

I don’t even know what I need. I have a list of things that I think I need, but those things don’t always line up with what God knows I need. So, can I really worry about the things I need if I don’t even know what those things are? God’s the only one who truly knows my needs, and He’s the only one who can provide me with those needs.

I want to be a wildflower. I want to bloom without worry or cares. I have a God who knows and loves me, who is in control, and who promises never to leave me. When I begin to get anxious about my life, I have to remind myself to stop focusing on the world and start listening to God. There’s no better place to rest my doubts and worries than in the hands of the Creator of the universe.

One thought on “consider the wildflowers

Leave a Reply

