sink

Sink.

It’s a concept I’ve been thinking about recently.

Sometimes I feel like I’m sinking. And I hope I’m not the only one.

Either in overwhelming emotions or responsibilities or stress.

Sink (v.)– to become partially or completely submerged; to fall or descend into

Sometimes I sink into the thoughts that keep me up at night: How do I know my life is on the right path? What if I’m not good enough to accomplish the things I want? I’m not as good of a person as I think I am sometimes. I don’t try hard enough. I’m unhappy with where I am in life. What if I seemed unkind or rude today? What if I missed an opportunity? I should’ve studied more or listened better or said more or done more.

I sink into things that damage my soul. Life gets so overwhelming and everything tends to come at you at once. I start out most days on the surface, and when I wake up late and have to rush to school, I sink a little. When someone says something to me that is a little less than kind, I sink even lower. When I don’t make the grade, I sink a little more. There is so much negativity swirling around us: People complaining, people either being hurt or hurting someone else, families being torn apart, and children being abused. Sometimes all the negativity, even if it has nothing to do with me personally, pulls me down.

Sometimes it seems like literally nothing in your life is going the way you want it to. Sometimes I don’t even have a reason, and I sink anyways. Sometimes I sink so low it takes a couple days to float my way back up to the surface. It takes no time at all to drag me down and it takes so much more time and effort to climb back to the top.

There’s a hope in this sinking, though. This sinking can restore you. This submerging causes you to look up from where you’ve sunk and see hope. It’s normally from the bottom that we rebuild our foundation.

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. A righteous man may have many troubles, but the Lord delivers him from them all.” Psalm 34:18-19

It’s when we’re at the bottom that we can look up and see our need for our Savior. I’m almost afraid to say this, but maybe we should allow ourselves to sink. Maybe we should let ourselves crumble. Because when we’re at our lowest, we see God the most clearly. We feel His love and comfort more deeply.

It was while Peter was sinking in the waves that he realized how much he needed Christ and cried out, “Lord, save me!”

There’s a sinking that saves us. An immersing into Jesus and His love.

When you allow the peace of God to consume you instead of the world’s negativity.

When you sink into the comfort and love that can only be found in Jesus.

Sinking into Jesus saves you from the heartache and the turmoil. It saves you from being overwhelmed. It saves your spirit from collapsing. There is beauty in sinking- in realizing your helplessness while also realizing the power of Almighty God. This is when you truly understand that your life cannot go on unless you have Jesus by your side. There is value in this sinking, because it causes you to see the love and compassion of God.

tossed by waves

Sink yourself into the love and security of your Savior. That’s the only place for your soul to go- when you feel yourself sinking, keep sinking, but sink into the peace and grace of Jesus.

One thought on “sink

Leave a Reply

