an unhurried life

unhurried life

In elementary school, we long for middle school.

In middle school, we rush to high school.

In high school, we’re dying to get to college.

When we’re 11 we rush into lipstick, mascara, and shaving our legs. We hurry our life to get to our first kiss, our first prom, our diploma, our license, our degree. At what point in my life will the rushing stop? Maybe someday I’ll magically wake up and think, “Here I am. This is what I’ve been waiting for. I’ve made it, time can stop now” My guess is that probably won’t happen. We’ll always be rushing for something. Rushing to the weekend, the next paycheck, or the next checkpoint in our life.

My problem is that I sometimes long for the future so much, I become extremely discontent with my life now. I wish so badly to move on, to get married, to finish college, or just to reach the next step in life that I sometimes get jealous of those that make it to that next step before I do. Contentment is something I’ve struggled with for a while now.

I can’t make my life go faster. I won’t miraculously wake up tomorrow 22 years old, married, with a college degree and a baby on the way. What I am is 19, a sophomore in college, and the closest thing I have to a baby is my (new and adorable!) puppy, Annie. That’s where I am right now. If I constantly rush my life and don’t focus on where I am now, I miss out on my purpose and my potential in this current moment.

I’m not living my life as God intended when I can’t live in the present. God tells me there is a time for everything. He also tells me that he has a plan for my life. When I constantly push for the future, I’m telling Him that my life should go according to my timing and my desires, not His. And who on Earth am I to rush God? Or to tell Him that my desires should come before His plan?

“To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven” Ecclesiastes 3:1

“There are many plans in a man’s heart, nevertheless the Lord’s counsel—that will stand.” Proverbs 19:21

There may be wonderful opportunities right in front of us now, and we can’t see them because we’re too focused on rushing into the future. God may be working out things in our life in this very moment, and we look right past them because we’re too busy pushing toward tomorrow.

I’m learning that living every day in anticipation for the future makes for a very unhappy present. I’m learning not to live in discontent with where I am currently. I’m learning to serve my purpose where I am now and fully give my future to God.

I’m learning that an unhurried life is a peaceful and content life. I want to focus on now and today. I want to see how I can serve God now and I want to see the joy in today. I’m learning to live each day as it comes to me, and to look for the opportunities each day brings me.

Leave a Reply

