let God move you

I often make myself promises that I’m going to love better. Sometimes it’s a promise to love Ridge better or my family or somebody that’s difficult to deal with or a stranger. I also make myself promises to be more forgiving or graceful or kind. Especially when I give a harsh word or have a hateful attitude, I tell myself to do better next time. I think of ways to improve myself. When I make myself these promises, I am actually very intent on doing it. The problem is, I rarely ever actually do.

And most of the time it’s because when I go back to my daily routines, I forget about my promises.
The stress and responsibilities of everyday life take precedence over my promises to become more like Christ.
Sometimes I try to fit my spiritual life into my to-do list.

1. work
2. take speech quiz
3. show kindness and love
4. clean room
5. forgive unconditionally
6. buy shampoo

checklist
I try to fit my expression of love and grace into my list of daily responsibilities. I don’t think that really works. I still forget about it because I put my other “to-do” things first. I should allow God’s grace to guide me through the day. Walking like Christ doesn’t happen by making a checklist, it happens by letting God move me.

There’s a hymn we sing at church and it’s called “Take Time to be Holy” and a couple of the lines are:
Take time to be holy, the world rushes on; spend much time in secret with Jesus alone…
Take time to be holy, let him be thy guide, and run not before Him, whatever betide…
Take time to be holy, be calm in thy soul, each thought and each motive beneath His control. Thus led by His spirit to fountains of love, thou soon shalt be fitted for service above.

I love these words because they remind us that in order to live like Jesus lived, we have to seek Him first. We have to abide in our Heavenly Father, and spend time in His word. When you spend time with Jesus, you begin to act more like Him. The things that Jesus holds as important, like showing love, kindness, and forgiveness, will become important to you too. You won’t have to remind yourself to walk like He did, you will do it automatically.

My expression of love should be intertwined with everything I say and do. God doesn’t give us a checklist every day. He tells us to abide in Him. He is love. The only way to turn our life into an expression of love is to abide in love first. Abide in Christ.
When we abide in Christ, His love will move us through the day. Walking like Christ will no longer be an afterthought on a to-do list. Love will become a lifestyle. Love will be intertwined with every word and action. Remember the Spirit of love and power that dwells within you and use that as your guide through life.

2 thoughts on “let God move you

  1. Sister Betsy, I am so encouraged at your boldness to share your love of God on the internet. It is so refreshing to see young women in our churches reach out to others by sharing posts like this one, May God continue to work in you to share His love. Love in Christ, Becky Harvey

    Like

Leave a Reply

