did you know prayer actually works?

I’ve been thinking about prayer a lot lately.

Between everything that’s involved in my relationship with God, prayer usually falls near the end of the priority list. It’s either done half-heartedly, or not at all. I hope other people can say the same. I hope it’s not just me.

Maybe prayer is such an amazing concept that we can’t fully grasp what an awesome blessing it is- and so it gets pushed aside.

Prayer: having the ability to talk to God- the Creator of the universe and the Keeper of our souls

Prayer is proof that God did not leave us here alone. We have the awesome privilege of actually communicating with the One who knows us better than we know ourselves. How is that possible?? Sometimes I wonder if we truly realize what we have in this privilege of prayer- real communication with God himself.

You know, whenever someone is going through some heartache we tell them “I’m praying for you.” And then how often do we actually pause and pray for them? Is that just something we say to make others feel better or do we really mean it? Or when someone gives us the advice “just pray about it”- do we honestly take that advice and do we even believe in it?

We take prayer for granted honestly. I know I do. We reserve prayer for when we really, really need something or for special occasions or church. That’s it.

I spend a lot of time driving between my home and work and school, so at the beginning of this semester I turned my car into my own little “war room”- just like the movie. I’m not sure where I stand on repeating written prayers regularly but I definitely need help staying focused, and writing down what I’m praying for helps a lot.

I wrote down the specific things I was praying for on sticky notes and taped them to my dash board. Driving to school in the mornings is a great time for me to think and pray because I have a pretty good length of time driving there. So if I ever lose my train of thought or get distracted I could just look over and remind myself what I was doing. Also, if I ever happen to glance over at them at any time I can immediately shoot up a quick prayer.

And y’all, I’ve noticed several changes over the past few weeks. Nothing happened overnight, as we always expect our prayers to be answered, but looking back at where I was when I started, I can see progress.

Imagine that- prayer works. God actually listens to us. How sad it is that we so often forget that.

I had one sticky note for both me and Ridge. And I’ve been able to see a difference in him and me and our relationship.

I had another sticky note for my own personal behavior and attitude, and my relationship with others. And I’m beginning to see those prayers answered too.

Thinking about this brings me to tears. God listens! To me. Why? Why do deserve to be listened to?

He heard my prayers and I’ve seen answers. How crazy. It makes my faith so much more real.

The biggest change I saw was in myself. My own heart. Being intentional with my prayers kind of shifted my focus. I not only thought about my relationship with God and talked to him more during the times I was driving, but throughout the whole day. He was at the front of my mind no matter what I was doing.

Also, being more deeply engaged in prayer made me realize what a privilege prayer is. And not only prayer, but everything I have. My family, my home, my church, every meal put on the table for me, even the fact that I wake up every morning is a privilege. Absolutely every aspect of my life is a blessing from God.

I think, Why me? Why am I blessed this way? I have done nothing to deserve anything.

did you know prayer actuallt works

“For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need” Hebrews 4:15-16

Jesus is touched by our hurt and our trials. He is able to sympathize with us, because He lived on the Earth as one of us. There is no better place to take our hurt, our needs and our praises than to God. We don’t have to be afraid to ask God for what we need. Jesus understands. Jesus knows all our needs and all our weaknesses and He is able to provide far better than what we could ever provide for ourselves. How could we possibly ignore this gift of prayer? How could we ever convince ourselves that we’re doing ok on our own, and that we don’t need prayer today?

Prayer is so humbling. It’s such an important part of our relationship with God and we so easily take it for granted. In fact, prayer is so important that Daniel continued to pray to God even after it was outlawed and risked being thrown into the lion’s den (Daniel 6:6-12).

Prayer is the doorway to communication with our Creator. What an awesome opportunity we have, and I pray we never take it for granted.

{Philippians 4:6-7, James 5:16, 1 Timothy 2:8}

One thought on “did you know prayer actually works?

  1. Betsy I really enjoy your writing and this one especially I know I don’t pray as often as I should and sometimes I feel God does’t hear even as I know he does and will answer in his own time.
    And when I don’t expect it. I know your trust is genuine I can tell in your action and your faith .I needed this one and appreciate you sharing .It has Blessed me so much .Love you and keep up the good work .God is using you to Bless others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

